“Forgotten Hollywood”- The Envelope Please…

Posted on September 6, 2018 by raideoman1 | No Comments

Manny P. here…

“`Actress Cicely Tyson and composer Lalo Schifrin are among the cinematic legends receiving the year’s honorary Oscar statuettes at the film academy’s Governors Awards. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the honorees after a vote by the board of governors.

“`Tyson garnered one Oscar nod for the 1972 flick  Sounder. She was awarded an Emmy for her fabulous performance in The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman. Motion Picture roles have included The Last Angry Man, Fried Green Tomatoes, The Helpand The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, and The Help. On the small screen, she was cast in Roots.


CICELY TYSON                          LALO SCHIFRIN

“`Schifrin is a six-time nominee, who composed original scores for over one hundred movies, including Cool Hand Luke, Bullitt, Kelly’s Heroes, and Dirty Harry. Lalo also penned the score for television programs, such as  Mannix, The Big Valley, Medical Center, Starsky and Hutch, and his most famous composition, Mission: Impossible.

“`The 10th annual Governors Awards will be held in Los Angeles on November 18th.

Until next time>                               “never forget”

This entry was posted on Thursday, September 6th, 2018 at 2:23 am and is filed under Blog by Manny Pacheco. You can follow any comments to this post through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Bookmark this post:
Digg Del.icio.us Reddit Furl Google Bookmarks StumbleUpon Windows Live Technorati Yahoo MyWeb

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.