“Forgotten Hollywood”- An Honor for Richard Gere…

Posted on December 26, 2011 by raideoman1 | No Comments

Manny P. here…

   Actor Richard Gere will receive the George Eastman Award on February 16, 2012, mainly for his longtime effort in the battle against HIV/AIDS. He helped to establish AIDS Care Home, a residential facility in India for women and children with AIDS. He will be presented with the accolade in Upstate New York, at the Rochester George Eastman House.                        RICHARD GERE ———>

   Gere is heavily involved in charitable advocacy, including acting as co-founder of Tibet House, which aids the Dalai Lama’s human rights campaign. The star is also Chairman of the International Campaign for Tibet. He actively appears at Survival International events, an organization dedicated to protecting the rights and lands of the tribal people throughout the world; and he currently serves on the Board of Directors for Healing the Divide, which helps fund global initiatives to promote peace and justice. He created the Gere Foundation India Trust in 1999 to support humanitarian programs in the host country.

   Among his career highlights, Richard Gere is best remembered for roles in Days of Heaven, Looking for Mr. GoodbarAmerican Gigolo, An Officer and a Gentleman, The Cotton Club, Pretty Woman, and Chicago. In 2010, he was honored for lifetime achievement at the 34th Cairo International Film Festival.

   The George Eastman House is a museum dedicated to photography, and one of the world’s oldest cinematic archives. It was built by George Eastman, the founder of the Eastman Kodak Company. The film collection is one of the major moving image repositories in the United States, with over 25,000 titles, and collections of stills, posters, and papers, plus close to three million artifacts. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1966

   The George Eastman House Honors Award was established in 2009, and given to celebrities whose lifetime contributions embody the values and traditions championed by the international museum. Past recipients include Jessica Lange, Lauren Bacall, Martin Scorsese and Meryl Streep.

Until next time>                               “never forget”

This entry was posted on Monday, December 26th, 2011 at 12:44 am and is filed under Blog by Manny Pacheco. You can follow any comments to this post through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Bookmark this post:
Digg Del.icio.us Reddit Furl Google Bookmarks StumbleUpon Windows Live Technorati Yahoo MyWeb

Comments are closed.