“Forgotten Hollywood”- Golden Globes to Honor Denzel…

Posted on November 17, 2015 by raideoman1 | No Comments

Manny P. here.. 800px-Denzel_Washington_og_Anne_Hathaway_IMG_6550b

   The Hollywood Foreign Press Association will honor Denzel Washington with the Cecil B. DeMille Award at the 73rd Annual Golden Globes for his considerable impact on the world of entertainment. The 60-year-old star has two prestigious statuettes for his roles in Glory and Hurricane. Overall, he received an additional five nods. Washington has also served as national spokesperson for Boys & Girls Clubs of America since 1993

   Denzel, who starred in modern classics such as Malcolm X, Inside Man, and Training Day, will join previous recipients, including Morgan Freeman, Robert DeNiro, Harrison Ford, Warren Beatty, Jodie Foster, George Clooney, Woody Allen, Robin Williams, Barbra Streisand, and others. Judy Garland was both the first woman to receive the honor at the tender age of 39 in 1962, and she was also the youngest honoree. Samuel Goldwyn was the oldest to receive the prize at 90 in 1973. The Cecil B. DeMille Award is handed out annually, with the exceptions of 1976 and 2008.  DENZEL WASHINGTON –>

   Founded in the 1940s during WWII, the HFPA’s original mission was to bridge the gap between Hollywood and the overseas community that watched its emerging films. Today, 55 countries are represented in the association. The 2016 Golden Globe Awards will air live from the Beverly Hilton Hotel on January 10th. Ricky Gervais is hosting.

   Denzel Washington is a well-deserved recipient.

Until next time>                               “never forget”

This entry was posted on Tuesday, November 17th, 2015 at 9:49 pm and is filed under Blog by Manny Pacheco. You can follow any comments to this post through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Bookmark this post:
Digg Del.icio.us Reddit Furl Google Bookmarks StumbleUpon Windows Live Technorati Yahoo MyWeb

Comments are closed.